Sindh University

About Sindh university? What about their programs and study criteria?


Solved 27-03-2020 Anam 493

Please briefly explain why you feel this question should be reported .

Answers (1)

Anam Malik 629


Please briefly explain why you feel this answer should be reported .

The University of Sindh is a public research university in the education city of Jamshoro, Sindh, Pakistan. It is one of the oldest universities in Pakistan and was certified by ISO in 2015. In 2013, the University was ranked eighth in "General Category" by the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan.
From 1947 to 1951 the University functioned solely as an examining body. However, after its relocation in Hyderabad in 1951, it started functioning as a teaching university in pursuit of fulfillment of its charter and mission to disseminate knowledge; the first teaching department, namely, Department of Education, raised to the status of Faculty of Education later, was started in view of the great dearth of trained teachers in the country. The departments of basic Science disciplines as well as other departments on the humanities side were added by mid-fifties.
About Programs and studies: -
There are presently 4 Law Colleges and 74 Degree and Post Graduate Colleges (including 16 Private Colleges) affiliated to the University.
Academic Faculties of the University impart teaching leading to the Bachelor (Honors) and master’s degrees and provide research guidance for the M.Phil. and Ph.D. programs. The teaching and research under the Faculties of Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, Education, Islamic Studies, Commerce & Business Administration is directly imparted by the University.
Each Faculty works under the Dean, appointed by the Chancellor for a term of 3 years. The University teaching departments, institutes, and centers offer programs leading to the award of 3- year Bachelor’s (Honors) degree in various general and basic disciplines on Humanities side while 4- year bachelor’s degree is offered under the Faculty of Natural Sciences. The degrees have been predesignated accordingly indicating discipline e.g. for Computer Science BC (CS) and Information Technology BS(IT) etc.
The Masters’s degree programs are of 1- year duration after Honors and of 2 -year duration after Bachelor (Pass) degrees.
The 2- year Bachelor’s (Pass) degree programs are conducted through various affiliated Degree Colleges within the jurisdiction of the University.
The teaching under the Faculty of Law is conducted through the affiliated professional Law colleges.
Degree programs in the Evening shift introduced since 2002 include master’s degrees in English and Information Technology- related disciplines such as E-commerce and Multimedia Technology.
Many teaching departments under various Faculties of the University also offer Postgraduate 1-year Diploma as well as short term certificate programs.
Some of the degree colleges in the private sector and affiliated to the University, also offer 3-year, Hons. & Master’s programs.

Leave An Answer

app logo

Download Our App!

Enjoy all the features. Browse jobs, articles, questions, scholarships and many more! in just one App